Bathurst Legends Confirmed for Muscle Car Masters


Bathurst Legends Confirmed for Muscle Car Masters

The Heritage Touring Cars Series will head to Muscle Car Masters over the 29th and 30th of October to hold the fifth and final round of our 2016 series. And it looks like we are going to be in very good company indeed.

Read on for the news from Muscle Car Masters.

Bathurst Legends Confirmed for Muscle Car Masters

FOUR-TIME Bathurst winner Allan Moffat heads an ever-growing list of legends of Australian motorsport that have confirmed their attendance at the 2016 Muscle Car Masters at Sydney Motorsport Park on October 29-30.

The Ford icon will make a return to the 12th annual Muscle Car Masters among a list including at least 10 Bathurst-winning legends.

Joining Moffat at the ever-popular event will be 1974 race winners John Goss and Kevin Bartlett, 1969 winner Colin Bond and 1967 winner Fred Gibson.

Seven-time Bathurst winner Jim Richards will also be on-hand racing one of his former JPS 635 Group C cars in the Heritage Touring Cars category, while two-time winner John Bowe will also be competing at the event.

50 years on from their victory in the 1966 Gallaher 500, Bob Holden and Finn Rauno Aaltonen will be at Sydney Motorsport Park to celebrate the half-century anniversary of the dominant 1 to 9 result achieved by Mini Coopers in the Bathurst classic.

Holden, aged 83, will also be in competition at Muscle Car Masters behind the wheel of one of his original Group A Toyota Corollas in the Heritage Touring Cars category!

1965 Bathurst winner Bo Seton, his son Glenn and grandson Aaron will be in attendance at Muscle Car Masters, which this year will be held on the final weekend of October for the first time.

Also confirmed to attend the 2016 Muscle Car Masters are John French, Murray Carter, John McCormack, Charlie O’Brien, Garry Rogers, Trevor Ashby, Steve Reed, John Smith, Spencer Martin, John Leffler, Bob Watson, Gary Cooke and Graham Moore with plenty more to be confirmed in upcoming weeks.

Muscle Car Masters is a celebration of Australian motorsport history, heritage and passion jointly promoted by the Australian Racing Drivers Club and Chevron Publishing, a division of nextmedia.

First held in 2005 it has become a permanent part of Sydney Motorsport Park’s calendar and this year moves from the Father’s Day weekend to October 29-30.

The 2016 event will feature an all-star racing line-up of Historic Group A and C Touring Cars in the Heritage Touring Cars class, Australian Trans-Am, Group N Historic Touring Cars and Group S as well as a new Sports Racing Car Invitational demo category featuring ‘big banger’ Sportscars, Sports Sedans and Can-Am machines.

Making their first appearance at the event this year are the Kumho Tyre Australian V8 Touring Car Series and Australian 5-Litre Touring Car Association, featuring a range of impressive Commodores and Falcons from the early V8 Supercar era.

Tickets are now available for Muscle Car Masters with online purchases offering a significant saving compared to on-the-day prices.

Further details are available at:

Image courtesy of Ian Smith/AN1 Images