Strong Entries Confirmed for Heritage Touring Cars 2016 Series Round 2 at Morgan Park


Strong Entries Confirmed for Heritage Touring Cars 2016 Series Round 2 at Morgan Park

The Heritage Touring Cars series will return to Queensland over the 29th of April to the first of May, to contest the second round of the 2016 series.

A full field of 26 historic Group C and A Australian touring cars will take to the classic circuit for a weekend of magnificent tin top racing.

Group C will see the RX7s of Chris Bowden and Phil Verwoert doing battle with Frank Binding in the Army Reserve XD Falcon and Ed Singleton, who’ll be returning to ‘Elvis’, his signature STP Roadways VH Commodore.

Duking it out in the lower capacity cars will be Peter Woods in the Scuderia Veloce Volvo 242 GT, Justin Matthews and Russell Keam aboard Bob Holden Escorts, and Steve Axisa and Gavin Adamson in Isuzu Gemini PF60s.

Jump forward a decade to Group A and you can look forward to some great dices through the strong field. Enjoy the GIO Nissan GT-R of Tony Alford doing battle with the Sierra RS500s of Duncan McKellar and Carey McMahon, a set of four Commodores, including Wayne Cliff at the wheel of his period Deluxe Coachlines VK Commodore, the Laurie Nelson Mustang of Greg Keam and the Volvo 240 turbo of Craig Neilson.

In the mid-capacity cars, fans of Japanese muscle will enjoy John Abbott going toe to toe with a trio of BMWs in his Peter Williamson Toyota Supra. Three Bob Holden Corollas will go to work in the under two-litre cars, including one driven by Bob himself, and Brian Henderson is sure to be in the middle of them in his Peter Jackson Nissan Gazelle.

The Heritage Touring Cars series is racing as part of the HRCC’s Historic Warwick at Morgan Park Raceway. The event is going to be a great one for fans of muscle car motorsport, with a strong field of Group N touring cars also set to compete, along with a glorious field of formula and sports cars.

It will run at Morgan Park in Queensland over the 29th of April to the 1st of May. If you’re in Queensland, or can make it there, head down to enjoy the action and make sure to visit us in the pits and paddock to get up close to the cars and chat with their owners and drivers!

Photography thanks to Ian Welsh of Shifting Focus Photographics.

HTC Round 2 – Historic Warwick at Morgan Park Entry List

Group A – Over 3 litres

Tony Alford  GIO Nissan GT-R

Duncan McKellar ANZ Ford Sierra RS500

Carey McMahon B&H Ford Sierra RS500

John Douglas Everlast VL ‘Walkinshaw’ Commodore

Gary Kirwan Jagparts VL ‘Walkinshaw’ Commodore

Mark Taylor Trevethan/McDowell VL Commodore

Wayne Clift Deluxe Coachlines VK Commodore

Craig Neilson Hazelton Volvo 240 turbo

Greg Keam Lawrie Nelson Mustang

Group A – 2 to 3 litres

Peter Jones Asahi BMW M3 evo

David Towe JPS BMW M3

David Harris JPS BMW 325i

John Abbott Peter Williamson Toyota Supra


Group A – Under 2 litres

Brian Henderson Peter Jackson Nissan Gazelle

Bob Holden Bob Holden Corolla

Terry O’Bierne Bob Holden Corolla

David Paterson Bob Holden Corolla Sprinter


Group C – Over 3 litres

Frank Binding Army Reserve XD Falcon

Ed Singleton STP Roadways VH Commodore

Chris Bowden Tokico Mazda RX7

Phil Verwoert Berklee Mazda RX7


Group C – 2 to 3 litres

Peter Woods Scuderia Veloce Volvo 242GT


Group C – Under 2 litres

Justin Matthews Bob Holden Escort

Russell Keam Bob Holden Escort RS2000

Steve Axisa Isuzu Gemini PF60

Gavin Adamson Isuzu Gemini PF60