Sandown Awaits For Heritage Touring Cars


Sandown Awaits For Heritage Touring Cars

Images thanks to Bruce Moxon

THE final round of this year’s Heritage Touring Cars Championship will be a major part of this weekend’s Historic Sandown event in Melbourne as a range of Group A and C cars compete on the famous circuit.

At last count the entry list totalled 19 cars with nine Group A machines and 10 from the 1973-1984 Group C era.

Nissan GT-R pilots Carey McMahon and Tony Alford should be the cars to beat with Terry Lawlor again behind the wheel of his ex-Colin Bond Caltex Sierra to tackle the Japanese supercars.

The majority of the Group A field are aboard Nissans with the DR30 Skylines of Carolyn Kruger and Graeme Taylor (ex-Murray Carter Netcomm) also joined by the HR31s of Mark Eddy and Lyndon Arnel, the latter making his first appearance in the turbocharged six-cylinder Skyline.

Queenslander Peter Jones will fly the flag for fans of Bavarian cars aboard an ex-Anthony Reid Japanese Touring Car Championship E30 BMW M3, while Adrian Allisey is the only Commodore pilot in Group A in his ex-Willmington VL.

Heritage Touring Cars at Historic Sandown

The Group C field will be made up of the Commodores of Milton Seferis (ex-Peter Janson), Lindsay Woollard (Re-Car) and Jeff Trembath (ex-Cullen/Alan Jones) taking on the Falcons of Porsche Carrera Cup regular Fraser Ross and Glenn Gerstel (ex-Murray Carter).

The remainder of the field features the ex-Allan Grice Craven Mild Torana A9X of Tony Sawford, the Mazda RX-7s of Chris Bowden and Phil Verwoet, the Capri of Carl Muller and the Escort of Craig Bowring

The Heritage Touring Cars will qualify on Saturday at 11.10am with a 6-lap race at 3.05pm.

They will complete their weekend of racing on Sunday with another 6-lapper at 11.20am and a 10 lap final at 3.00pm.

This weekend marks the final round of six in this year’s Heritage Touring Cars Championship, which has seen the ‘Legends of Bathurst’ visit Wakefield Park, Morgan Park, Sydney Motorsport Park and Lakeside.