2014 Heritage Touring Cars Championship Results


2014 Heritage Touring Cars Championship Results

We’ve tallied up the results from an exciting and closely-fought 2014 championship season, and have the final point scores and class results available for your perusal right here on the club website.

Hit the following link, or right-click and ‘Save-As’ to download the results here:

2014 HTC Point Score Final [PDF]

Congratulations to John Douglas and Terry Lawlor, our Peter Brock Trophy winners for Group C and A respectively, along with the following class winners for 2014!

A1           Group A Over 3000cc                      Terry Lawlor                      Nissan Skyline GT-R
A2           Group A 2001-3000cc                     David Towe                       BMW M3
A3           Group A Up to 2000cc                    David Paterson                 Toyota Corolla Sprinter
C1           Group C Over 3000cc                      John Douglas                    Mazda RX7
C2           Group C 2001-3000cc                     Carl Muller                        Ford Capri 3.0s
C3           Group C 1601-2000cc                     Justin Matthews              Ford Escort Mk.2
C4           Group C 1301-1600cc                      Michael Logiudice          Holden Gemini

Class A2 for Group A Touring Cars 2001-3000cc was won by David Towe in his JPS BMW M3.

This car was shared by Peter Brock and Jim Richards at Bathurst in 1988, but it has been restored to its 1987 WTCC Bathurst 1000 livery and specification, where Jim Richards shared the driving with Tony Longhurst.

The top 3 places in the class all went to BMW M3 drivers.  Sydney-based David Towe put in a big effort, taking part in every round of the 2014 Championship and taking it right down to the wire at the final round at Sandown, where he was pipped for the Peter Brock trophy for the outright Group A Championship by Terry Lawlor in the GIO Nissan GT-R.

Class A3 for Group A Touring Cars up to 2000cc was won by Brisbane driver David Paterson in his rear wheel drive Toyota Sprinter.

The car was built by Bob Holden in 1986 and steered by a succession of rent-a-drivers until the early ‘90s.  Only two drivers ran in the class in 2014, the other being the man himself, Bob Holden, who suffered from a couple of DNFs, allowing the consistent Paterson to win the class and finish fifth outright in Group A, despite skipping the final round.

Class C2 for Group C Touring Cars 2001-3000cc was won by Melbourne’s Carl Muller in an ex- Bo Seton Mk.3 Capri.

Class C3 for Group C Touring Cars 1601-2000cc was won by Justin Matthews, narrowly beating Bob Holden Motors teammate Greg Keam, both of whom ran Mk.2 Ford Escorts with the ubiquitous 2-litre ford Pinto engine.

Both drivers did well to finish top 3 outright in the Group C Championship, behind John Douglas in his Berklee RX7.  Former Super Touring BMW driver Justin Matthews hails from Sydney and his car was the last 2-litre Group C car to race in the Bathurst 1000.

Class C4 for Group C Touring Cars up to 1600cc was comfortably won by Sydney driver Michael Logiudice in his Maggi Gemini.

The little car that was raced at Bathurst by Terry Finnigan in the ‘70s scored more than double the points of his nearest rival, another Gemini.  “Noodles” will be driven by a young Victorian carting star in 2015 as Michael has now stepped up to Holden v8 power.

Chatting about the 2014 season, HTC Director David Paterson was quick to praise competitors’ dedication, talent and fine choice in automobiles.

“There’s no doubting the commitment of our two champions.  Both of them ran at every point scoring round of the series, from Warwick in Qld to Phillip Island, Victoria and all points between.”

“Terry Lawlor bought the “biggest stick” replacing a 1992 Sierra, one of the best cars in the series, with a 1991 GT-R, the best car in the series.  Terry had Mick Mitchell of Corse Racing on hand to service the car and ensure it was always at its best.  As well as winning most of the races, Terry broke the lap record in each of the final three rounds of the series. “

“John Douglas’ huge commitment to racing begins before he gets near the circuit.  John is based in Tasmania and brings the car across Bass Strait, on the ferry for each round.  If we had a furthest travelled trophy, he’d win that too!  John maintains the car himself and finished 16 of the 18 races that counted for this year’s Championship.”

Image thanks to Brent Murray of At Speed Images